DAILY WINDOW CONCERTS IN THE YORCKSTRAßE

Concert cancellations due to the Covid-19 virus outbreak have become a part of every artists life. With my USA and Lithuanian tours cancelled, I have decided to use this time to learn new repertoire and cheer my wonderful Yorckstraße community in Hanover with daily concerts. Between March 17 and May 10, every evening at 18.15 I used to open my windows and perform a short tribute to art, humanity, and friendship.
 
Inspired by the historic recitals by Anton Rubinstein, I tried to offer my audience a wide range of styles and epochs, dedicating every of these tiny recitals to a chapter in the history of music. Here you can find all the programmes I performed on this series.
On May 11 I returned to live teaching, effectively ending my personal quarantine and the series that symbolized it.

Tuesday, March 17

Gershwin / Januševičius / Hribar - Rhapsody in Blue

Wednesday, March 18

Tchaikovsky - The Seasons, Op. 37a: September / The Hunt

MacDowell - Woodland Sketches, Op. 51: To a Wild Rose

Debussy - L'isle Joyeuse

Thursday, March 19

Glass - Etude No. 6

Lowler / Januševičius - Sidewalks of New York

Chasins - Three Chinese Pieces: Flirtation in a Chinese Garden; Rush Hour in Hong Kong

Friday, March 20

Chopin - Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 34/1; Waltz in C-sharp Minor, Op. 64/2; Waltz in D-flat Major, Op. 64/1

Saturday, March 21

Mozart - Sonata in C Major, K. 545

Dvarionas / Januševičius - The Little Star

Sunday, March 22

Bach / Godowsky - Violin Sonata in A Minor, BWV 1003: Aria

Rachmaninoff - Polka de V.R.

Monday, March 23

Albeniz - Spanish Dance No. 2

Ortiz de Mendíbil - Sinaphismus

Ferviño - Señá Patro!

Tuesday, March 24

Chopin - Nocturne in E Minor, Op. Posth.

Rachmaninoff - Moment Musicaux in E Minor, Op. 16/4

Chopin - Waltz in A Minor, Op. Posth.; Prelude in A Major, Op. 28/7

Wednesday, March 25

Debussy - Arabesque No. 1

Schumann R. - Arabeske, Op. 18

Thursday, March 26

Chopin - Mazurka in B-flat Major, Op. 7/1; Mazurka in A Minor, Op. 17/4; Mazurka in F Minor, Op. 63/2; Mazurka in C Major, Op. 67/3; Mazurka in A Minor, Op. 67/4; Mazurka in F Major, Op. 68/3

Friday, March 27

Beethoven - Sonata in C-sharp Minor, Op. 27/2

Saturday, March 28

Chopin - Nocturne in E-flat Major, Op. 9/2

Satie - Gymnopedie No. 1

Debussy - Suite Bergamasque: Clair de Lune

Sunday, March 29

 

Dvarionas - Winter Sketches: Down the Hill on a Sledge; The Snow-Covered Forest; The Thoughtful Snowman; Birds in Winter; On the Ice-Skating Rink

Monday, March 30

Rachmaninoff - Morceaux de Fantaisie, Op. 3: Prelude; Melodie; Polichinelle

Tuesday, March 31

Schumann R. - Kinderszenen, Op. 15: Träumerei

Schubert - Moment Musicaux in F Minor, Op. 90/4; Impromptu in A-flat Major, Op. 142/2

Chopin - Prelude in D-flat Major, Op. 28/15

Wednesday, April 1

Tiersen - Amélie: Comptine d'un autre été / L'Après-Midi; La Dispute; Le Moulin; Sur le fil

Silvestri - Forrest Gump Suite

Thursday, April 2

Chopin - Waltz in E Minor, Op. Posth.; Prelude in E Minor, Op. 28/4; Polonaise in A Major, Op. 40/1

Friday, April 3

Galuppi - Sonata No. 5 in C Major

Saturday, April 4

Poulenc - Novelette No. 1 in C Major

Debussy - Prelude No. 8 "La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin"

Massenet - Pieces de Genre, Op. 10: Melodie; Saltarello

Debussy - Children's Corner: Golliwog's Cakewalk

Sunday, April 5

Beethoven - Sonata in C Major, Op. 53

Monday, April 6

Bach / Kabalevsky - Prelude & Fugue in F Major, BWV 556

Marcello / Bach - Concerto in C Minor, BWV 974: Largo

Bach - Capriccio Sopra la Lontananza del Suo Fratello Dilettissimo, BWV 992

Bach / Januševičius - Bist Du bei Mir, BWV 508

Tuesday, April 7

Smith / Rachmaninoff - The Star-Spangled Banner

Ives - Sonata No. 2, Concord, Mass., 1840–60: The Alcotts

Martin - New York Nights

Wednesday, April 8

Grieg - Morning Mood, Op. 46/1; Waltz, Op. 12/2; Little Bird, Op. 43/4; Sarabande, Op. 40/2; Puck, Op. 71/3; To the Spring, Op. 43/6; In the Hall of the Mountain King, Op. 46/4

Thursday, April 9

Gershwin - Fascinating Rhythm; Someone to Watch Over Me; Oh, Lady, Be Good!, Embraceable You; A Foggy Day; 'S Wonderful (arranged by Gershwin, Markin, Januševičius, Peterson & Wild)

Friday, April 10

Bach / Brahms - Chaconne in D Minor (for the left hand solo), BWV 1004

Saturday, April 11

Rachmaninoff - Humoresque, Op. 10/5

Rachmaninoff / Volodos - Morning, Op. 4/2

Rachmaninoff - Etude-Tableau in E-flat Minor, Op. 39/5

Rachmaninoff / Januševičius - Vocalise, Op. 34/14

Sunday, April 12

Bach / Hess - Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring, BWV 147

Vivaldi / Bach - Concerto in D Major, Op. 3/7

Bach / Siloti - Suite No. 3, BWV 1068: Air

Vivaldi / Bach - Concerto in C Major, Op. 3/12: Finale

Monday, April 13

Haydn - Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:50

Beethoven / Busoni - Six Ecossaises, WoO 83

Tuesday, April 14

Rachmaninoff - Elegy, Op. 3/2

Paderewski - Minuet, Op. 14/1

Debussy - Pour le Piano: Sarabande

Lecuona - Mazurka Glissando

Wednesday, April 15

Mozart - Fantasie in C Minor, K. 475

Anonymous, falsely attributed to Mozart - Das Butterbrot

Thursday, April 16

Dvarionas - Little Suite: Prelude; Waltz in A Minor; The Little Windmill; Waltz in G Minor; Little Rhapsody; Theme and Variations; Dance (a la Skudučiai)

Friday, April 17

Prokofiev - Cinderella: Gavotte, Op. 95/2; Cinderella: Orientalia, Op. 97/6; Tarantella, Op. 65/4; Prelude in C Major, Op. 12/7

Shostakovich - Polka from "The Golden Age"

Saturday, April 18

Liszt - Vallée d'Obermann

Sunday, April 19

Mozart - Sonata in C Major, K. 330

Monday, April 20

Bach - Prelude & Fugue in F Minor, BWV 857

Bach / Petri - Schafe können sicher weiden, BWV 208

Bach / Kempf - Siciliano, BWV 1031

Tuesday, April 21

Poulenc - Trois Mouvements Perpétuels; Improvisation XV "Hommage à Édith Piaf"; Badinage

Sancan - Boîte a Musique

Ibert - Le Petit âne Blanc

Wednesday, April 22

Rachmaninoff - Prelude in D Major, Op. 23/4; Prelude in G Minor, Op. 23/5; Prelude in E-flat Major, Op. 23/6; Prelude in G-flat Major, Op. 23/10

Thursday, April 23

Burgmüller - Etudes, Op. 100, Book I: Artless Mind; Arabesque; Pastoral; Children's Party; Innocence; Progress; By the Limpid Stream; The Sweet Grace; The Chase; Tender Flower; The Young Shepherdess; Farewell; Consolation; Styrian

Friday, April 24

Beethoven - Two Sonatinas, Anh. 5; Klavierstück für Elise, WoO 59; Rondo alla ingharese "Rage Over a Lost Penny", Op. 129

Saturday, April 25

Liszt - Consolation No. 3, S. 172

Chopin - Barcarolle, Op. 60

Sunday, April 26

in loving memory of Benjamin Wolff

Glass - Glassworks: Opening

Ravel / Siloti - Kaddish

Saminsky / Januševičius - Lied über Estherka

Ben-Haim - Canzonetta, Op. 34/4

Monday, April 27

Brahms - Seven Waltzes from Op. 39

Korngold / Januševičius - Tanzlied des Pierrot

Tuesday, April 28

Piazzolla - Ausencias

Aguirre - Huella, Op. 49

Gardel - Por una Cabeza

Ginastera - Danzas Argentinas: Danza de la Moza Donosa

Piazzolla - Street Tango

Wednesday, April 29

Tchaikovsky - The Seasons, Op. 37a: June / Barcarolle; Dumka, Op. 59; Song of the Lark, Op. 39/22

Thursday, April 30

Schumann R. - Kinderszenen, Op. 15: Von fremden Ländern und Menschen

Burgmüller - Etudes, Op. 100, Book II: Ballade; Gentle Plaint; Chatterbox; Discomfort; Ave Maria; Tarantella; Angel's Voices; Barcarolle; Returning Home; The Swallow; My Lady's Ride

Friday, May 1

Chopin - Valse Brillante in E-flat Major, Op. 18; Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 64/3; Waltz in E Major, Op. Posth.; Grand Valse Brillante in A Minor, Op. 34/2

Saturday, May 2

Debussy - Ballade Slave; Children's Corner: Serenade for the Doll; Etude No. 11 "Pour les Arpèges Composés"

Sunday, May 3

Anderson - The First Day of Spring; Blue Tango; The Waltzing Cat; Forgotten Dreams; The Syncopated Clock

Monday, May 4

Mendelssohn-Bartholdy - Songs Without Words: E Major, Op. 19/1; A Major, Op. 38/4; A Major, Op. 19/4; F-sharp Minor, Op. 30/6; B Minor, Op. 67/5

Tuesday, May 5

50th Window Concert

Gershwin / Januševičius / Hribar - Rhapsody in Blue

Wednesday, May 6

Bach - Prelude & Fugue in C Major, BWV 846

Bach / Busoni - Ich ruf' zu Dir, Herr, BWV 639

Debussy - Preludes I: La Cathédrale Engloutie

Thursday, May 7

Brahms - Intermezzo in E-flat Major, Op. 117/1

Schumann C. - Romance in A-flat Major, Op. 11/3

Mendelssohn-Bartholdy - Duetto, Op. 38/6

Friday, May 8

Chopin - Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 69/1; Mazurka in G Minor, Op. 24/1; Cantabile, Op. Posth.; Largo in E-flat Major, Op. Posth.; Nouvelle Étude in A-flat Major, Op. Posth; Nocturne in C-sharp Minor, Op. Posth.

Saturday, May 9

Rubinstein - Melody in F, Op. 3/1

Fauré - Romance sans Paroles, Op. 17/3

Carpenter - Little Indian

Elgar - Salut d'Amour, Op. 12

Sunday, May 10

Final Concert

Schubert / Liszt - Aufenthalt; Am Meer; Erlkönig; Ständchen

Thursday, May 21

"Vitamin C" - Special Concert

Poulenc - Novelette No. 1 in C Major

Mozart - Sonata in C Major, K. 330

Bach / Godowsky - Andante (Aria) in C Major, BWV 1003

Schumann R. - Arabesque in C Major, Op. 18

Gershwin / Wild - Embraceable You

Beethoven - Sonata in C Major, Op. 53

  • Facebook Black Round
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Instagram - Black Circle

© 2018 by GINTARAS JANUŠEVIČIUS